About us

Photo: Michael Voit

Scientific Advisory Board

For the evaluation of research performance and to advise the institute in all relevant scientific matters the General Assembly appoints up to ten distinguished personalities from academia and industry to the Scientific Advisory Board. According to the 2002 elaborated recommendations of the Senate of the Leibniz Association, the Scientific Advisory Board significantly contributes to quality management in research.

The Advisory Board is independent in its consulting work and meets twice annually for consultation. The Advisory Board advises the ATB in all relevant scientific issues. This is especially true for the program budgets and the annual reports. The Board carries out audits on the excellency of ATB's research every two years. Results are reported to the General Assembly and the Leibniz Association.


Board members (Nov 2022):

  • Prof. Dr. Wilfried Winiwarter (Chair)
    University of Zielona Gora, Institute of Environmental Engineering (Poland), and International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), Laxenburg (Austria)
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Zentek (Vice Chair)
    Freie Universität Berlin, Institute of Animal Nutrition (Germany)
  • Prof. Dr. Steve Bull
    Newcastle University, UK 
  • Prof. Dr. Thijs Defraeye
    Empa, Simulating Biological Systems Group (Switzerland)
  • Merete Edelenbos Ass. Prof., PhD
    Department of Food Science, Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Lang
    MBCC Group - Consulting and Coaching in Microbiotics and Bioeconomy (Manager)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Pickel
    JOHN DEERE GmbH & Co. KG, European Technology Innovation Center
  • Prof. Dr. Arno Ruckelshausen
    Hochschule Osnabrück, University of Applied Sciences, Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science (Germany)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Stiene
    Hochschule Osnabrück, University of Applied Sciences