About us

Photo: Michael Voit

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the highest governing body of ATB. The members meet at least once a year. The General Assembly makes decisions on the

  • admission of new proposed members,
  • appointment and recall of the Scientific Director and other members of the Executive Board,
  • appointment and recall of the members of the Scientific Advisory Board,
  • acceptance of the middle-term research program, which is submitted by the Executive Board in consultation with the Scientific Advisory Board,
  • approval of the draft of the budget,
  • approval of the annual report and the budget account and the discharge of the Executive Board,
  • amendments of the statutes,
  • dissolution of the association.


  • Federation - Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) - Vice Chair
    Representant: RegDir Dr. Thomas Schneider
  • Federation - Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
  • State of Brandenburg - Ministry of Science, Research and Culture of the State of Brandenburg (MWFK) of the State of Brandenburg - Chair
    Representant: Dr. Inge Schlotzhauer
  • State of Brandenburg - Ministry of Agriculture, Environmant and Climate Protection (MLUK) of the State of Brandenburg
    Representant: Inge Sauerbier
  • Technical University Berlin
    Representant: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Henning Jürgen Meyer, Dept of Machinery System Design
  • Humboldt University Berlin
    Representant: Prof. Dr. Frank-M. Chmielewski, Faculty of Life Sciences, Albrecht Daniel Thaer Institute for Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences
  • University of Potsdam
    Representant: Prof. Dr. Barbara Höhle, Vice President for Research, Junior Academics and Equal Opportunities
  • VDI
    Representant: Dr. Markus Demmel, Chair VDI-MEG and Head Dept. Bavarian State Research Center for Agriculture (LfL)
  • Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board (permanent guest)
    Prof. Dr. Wilfried Winiwarter, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), Laxenburg, Austria