About us

Photo: Michael Voit

Former ATB executives

On this page we would like to pay tribute to the people who have shaped and accompanied the Institute in a leading position since its refoundation in 1992: former scientific directors of the ATB, heads of department and chairpersons of the Scientific Advisory Board.


Former scientific directors of the ATB

2004 - 2017: Prof. Dr. Reiner Brunsch, Scientific Director (2004-2008 acting)

1993 - 2004: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Zaske, Scientific Director

1992 - 1993: Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Welschof, Founding Director


Former Deputy Scientific Directors and Heads of Administration, members of ATB's Executive Board (alphabetical order)

2002 - 2004, Prof. Dr. Reiner Brunsch

1992 - 1998, Dr.-Ing. Detlef Ehlert

1998 - 2002, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Fürll

2002 - 2016, Dr. Martin Geyer

2003 – 2007, Dr. Ralf Habelt (Administrative Head)

1999 - 2003, Dr.-Ing. Eckart Kramer (Administrative Head)

1997 - 2002 und 2004 - 2014, Prof. Dr. Bernd Linke

1992 - 1999, Prof. Dr. Georg Michaelis (Administrative Head)

1992 - 1997, Prof. Dr. Dr. Georg Otto

2007 - 2022, Dr. Uta Tietz (Administrative Head)


Former Department Heads

Dr. Ingo Ackermann (1993 -  2002, Department Technology assessment, from 1996 on Abteilung Technology assessment and substance cycles)

Dr. habil. Klaus Baganz (1992 - 1993, Department Technology assessment)

Prof. Dr. Reiner Brunsch (1997 - 2004, Department Engineering for animal husbandry)

Dr.-Ing. Detlef Ehlert (1992 - 2014, Department Engineering for crop production)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Fürll (1996 – 2008, Department Post harvest technology)

Dr. Martin Geyer (1992 - 2022, Department Horticultural Engineering)

Dr. habil. Jürgen Hellebrand (1992 - 1996, Department Material cycles and energy flows)

Prof. Dr. Bernd Linke (1992 – 2016, Department Bioengineering)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Werner Maltry (1992 - 1996, Department Post harvest technology)

Prof. Dr. Dr. Georg Otto (1992 - 1997, Department Engineering for animal husbandry)


Former Chairpersons of the Scientific Advisory Board (alphabetical order)

2016 – 2017, Prof. Dr. Uwe Schmidt, Humboldt University Berlin

2009 - 2015, Prof. Dr. Thomas Herlitzius, Technical University Dresden

2002 - 2009, Prof. Dr. Dr. Hermann Auernhammer, Technical University Munich

1993 -1999 , Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Welschof

1992 - 1993, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Schön, Technical University Munich


We use cookies. Some are required to offer you the best possible content and functions while others help us to anonymously analyze access to our website. (Matomo) Privacy policy

Required required

Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the proper functioning of the website. This category only includes cookies that ensure basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.

Cookie Duration Description
PHPSESSID Session Stores your current session with reference to PHP applications, ensuring that all features of the site can be displayed properly. The cookie is deleted when the browser is closed.
bakery 24 hours Stores your cookie preferences.
fe_typo_user Session Is used to identify a session ID when logging into the TYPO3 frontend.
__Secure-typo3nonce_xxx Session Security-related. For internal use by TYPO3.

With cookies in this category, we learn from visitors' behavior on our website and can make relevant information even more accessible.

Cookie Duration Description
_pk_id.xxx 13 months Matomo - User ID (for anonymous statistical analysis of visitor traffic; determines which user is being tracked)
_pk_ses.xxx 30 minutes Matomo - Session ID (for anonymous statistical analysis of visitor traffic; determines which session is being tracked)